The Board of Directors is collectively accountable to the community, funders and other stakeholders for COHSASA’s performance in relation to its mission and strategic objectives and for the effective stewardship of its operations, including financial and human resources.

The Board meets four times a year and one of its main tasks is to ratify decisions taken by the Technical Committee regarding accreditation and graded recognition awards to be given to healthcare facilities.

Since COHSASA is a Non Profit Company (NPC), it has no share capital and its Board members receive no remuneration. The Board consists of a minimum of six and a maximum of 16 directors with a quorum of at least 75% of directors present or represented by proxy for valid decisions and resolutions.

Board Members are appointed for their knowledge, skills and experience in a particular field of endeavour and they include doctors, nurses, administrators and entrepreneurs drawn from both public and private sectors who are considered leaders in their field.

A Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson are elected from the ranks of the Board members to conduct meetings and assume leadership in decisions of policy and finance.

Mrs Sharon Slabbert
Mrs Sharon Slabbert (Chairperson)

Executive Officer: Health Services Delivery for the Hospital Association of South Africa.

Professor Gert J van Zyl  - Vice Chairperson
Professor Gert J van Zyl (Vice Chairperson)

Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of the Free State (UFS)

Professor Erwin Schwella

Current Professor and former Director of the School of Public Leadership at the University of Stellenbosch.

Professor Ethelwynn Stellenberg
Professor Ethelwynn Stellenberg

Associate Professor of Nursing in Department of Nursing and Midwifery at University of Stellenbosch: Quality Management and Regulation, Co-ordinator Masters Programme, Risk Management in Health care.

Dr Sibusiso Zuma

Senior Lecturer in the Department of Health Studies at the University of South Africa (UNISA).

Mrs Madelein Mkunu

Founder and President of Leading Women of Africa (LWA) and Director of LWA-Corporate Investment

Dr Gilbert Buckle
Dr Gilbert Buckle

Founding Member of The ISQua Academy of Quality and Safety in Health Care (IAQS)

Dr Nicole Spieker

Quality Director of PharmAccess Foundation and Managing Director of SafeCare, based in Amsterdam the Netherlands.